International Science Advisory Board

The International Science Advisory Board (SAB) evaluates periodically the current research programmes of the NICPB and advises the Science Council to open new programmes and/or to terminate existing programmes. The Advisory Board also evaluates scientific and administrative capacities of the candidates to the posts of the Director and/or the heads of Laboratories and working groups.

The sessions of the Advisory Board take place as necessary and they are called by the Director. The last evaluation took place in September 2016 (see also Evaluations)


The Science Council of NICPB approved the new members of the SAB on 15 February, 2016 as follows:

Prof. Peter Littlewood, Director, Argonne National Laboratory (USA)

Prof. Mart Saarma, Institute of Biotechnology, University of Helsinki (FIN)

Prof. Hanna Tähti, FICAM, University of Tampere (FIN)

Prof. Marten Wikström, Institute of Biotechnology, University of Helsinki (FIN)

Prof. Robert Kaptein, Bijvoet Center for Biomolecular Research, University of Utrecht (NED)

Prof. Nigel Hussey, Director of HMFL, Nijmegen, Radboud University (NED)

Prof. Vera Slaveykova, Director of Institute F.-A. Forel, University of Geneva (SUI)

Gian Giudice, Head of the CERN Theoretical Physics Department, CERN (SUI)

Patrick Janot, EP-CMG, CERN (SUI)


SAB report 2016

SAB report 2012

Contact Information